Hindsight is Always 20/20

Reflecting on our past experiences is healthy and beneficial in innumerable ways. But sometimes we choose to second guess our decisions and the ways we chose to handle situations. I think reflection is wonderful. But I also think that the moment reflection turns to regret, we enter dangerous territory.

As humans, we are not all-knowing beings. We have limited sight in our lives. We can try to forsee outcomes of each action we take in our lives, but sometimes things do not go according to our plans. Sometimes, when we look at our pasts, we begin thinking what if i had done X here, or not said X there, or had acted X way in that moment?

It has been my personal experience that regret is completely and utterly useless. Instead of constantly asking what if and feeling remorse over our decisions, let us try instead to learn from them. Turn those questions into statements. Next time I will do X here, or next time I will say X instead there, or next time I will act X way in that moment.

95967-Dont-Regret-Just-Learn-And-Grow

Feeling deep regret will simply make our hearts heavy. Everyone experiences tinges of what if’s in their lives. It is a perfectly natural and normal feeling. But I encourage you to consider renovating your way of thinking. Reflect. But please, do not regret. You have one life. Enjoy it, and learn from your past.

2 thoughts on “Hindsight is Always 20/20

  1. This is wonderfully relevant for every single individual. We spend, or shall I say waste, so much of our time in regret. Rather than dwelling, I agree, we need to learn from those mistakes or regrets and be motivated to do better and to be better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment